What I need – Freedom

When I think about religion, I would like to compare it to a mother who out of her love does not trust the capabilities of the child. Trys to control and question each and every action of the child. This behaviour of the mother is not because she wants to have superiority over the child but out of deep love. But the child wants to be free, wants to explore, wants to learn by trial and error. And who knows the child may prove the mother also wrong. But a child needs mother, he/she wants to come back to mother under certain circumstances even though the child has achieved the zenith of success. Similarly I need a religion that lets me be me, even when I tell I am an atheist, even when I say I abhor religion. I dont want my religion to keep me moral I will be moral despite it, I dont want my religion to control me, I will be under control despite it. I dont know if B R Lakshman Rao who wrote this drew the same meaning out of his poem, but yes I try to extract this liberty in everything I see.

ಅಮ್ಮ, ನಿನ್ನ ಎದೆಯಾಳದಲ್ಲಿ ಗಾಳಕ್ಕೆ ಸಿಕ್ಕ ಮೀನು ಮಿಡುಕಾಡುತಿರುವೆ ನಾನು ಕಡಿಯಲೋಲ್ಲೆ ನೀ ಕರುಳಬಳ್ಳಿ ಒಲವೂಡುತಿರುವ ತಾಯೆ, ಬಿಡದ ಬುವಿಯ ಮಾಯೆ(1) Oh Mother I am like a fish trapped in the depth of your heart.!! I am struggling to come out, but you dont cut that umbilical cord, you want to take care of me forever!!(1)
ನಿನ್ನ ರಕ್ಷೆಗೂಡಲ್ಲಿ ಬೆಚ್ಚಗೆ ಆಡಗಲಿ ಎಷ್ಟು ದಿನ ? ದೂಡು ಹೊರಗೆ ನನ್ನ ಓಟ ಕಲಿವೆ, ಒಳನೋಟ ಕಲಿವೆ, ನಾಕಲಿವೆ ಊರ್ಧ್ವ ಗಮನ, ಓ ಆಗಾಧ ಗಗನ(2) How many days more should I be under your protection !! Please push me out, I will learn to run !! I will learn the inner truth !! I will learn how to reach the top !! I will go beyond the enoromous sky!!(2)
ಮೇಲೆ ಹಾರಿ, ನಿನ್ನ ಸೆಳೆತ ಮೀರಿ, ನಿರ್ಭಾರಸ್ಥಿತಿಗೆ ತಲುಪಿ ಬ್ರಹ್ಮಾಂಡವನ್ನೇ ಬೆದಕಿ ಇಂಧನ ತೀರಲು, ಬಂದೇ ಬರುವೆನು ಮತ್ತೆ ನಿನ್ನ ತೊಡೆಗೆ, ಮೂರ್ತ ಪ್ರೇಮದೆಡೆಗೆ I will jump up !! I will overcome your pull!! I will feel weightlessness!! I stir the entire universe!! But dont worry, I’ll return to your lap!! I will not forget your unconditional love!!(3)
Leave a Reply

